Board of Health

Bringing the perspective of our community to the work of public health.

The seven-member Union County Board of Health is the governing body of the Union County Health Department. Five members are appointed by the District Advisory Council (comprised of county commissioners, township trustees, and representatives from each village/municipality within Union County). Two members are appointed by the City of Marysville. Board of Health members have varied education/career backgrounds and are not required to have formal education or experience in Public Health. Instead, Board of Health members are asked to represent our residents and the values of our community. Current members of the Board of Health are:

Keith Watson,

Gary Bowman, DVM
Vice President

Donna Burke, R. PH

Wayne Dellinger

Justin Krueger, MD

Mark Smith

Tiffany Wood

Former Board of Health Members

The Union County Board of Health was formed in 1919. The longest tenured member of the Board of Health was Mr. John DeVoss who served the Board for 46 years.

Past Members

Charles D. Mills, MD 1919-1933
L.L. Roebuck, MD 1919-1923
G.G. McIlroy 1919-1923
J.H. Kinkade 1919-1937
E.G. Grandstaff 1919-1923
H.L. Agner 1924-1929
W.F. Anderson 1924-1941
S.J. Brown 1924-1925
F.J. Wurtzbaugh, MD 1925-1942
Grant Gault 1929-1930
H.P. Clouse 1930-1933
Angus Macivor, MD 1933-1940
John DeVoss 1934-1980
William Cameron 1937-1943
C.O. Wiley 1940-1948
J.I. McAdow 1941-1962
E.J. Marsh, MD 1942-1975
William Porter 1943-1952
P.W. Sullivan 1948-1953
Urta Boerger 1952-1973
Rev. Robert Turner 1953-1954
C.W. Holcomb, MD 1954-1990
Jess Mitchell 1962-1971
Kenneth Koltenbah 1972-1983
Nena Seely 1973-1992
Lutrelle Lee 1975-1990
Phoebe Dunham 1980-1982
Jean Thiergartner 1982-1996
Paul Devine 1983-1998
Adam Shuman 1983-1984
Donald Parrott 1984-1990
Jeff Swartz 1988-1998
William Leibold 1990-1995
Michael Coleman, MD 1991-1993
Dianne Burns 1992-2001
Dr. Scott Baker 1994-1995
Beverly Savage, MD 1994-1999
Darlene Craver 1995-2001
Ken Kraus 1995-2000
Gary McDowell 1996-2011
Rick Shortell 1998-2000
Mike Brake 1998-2002
Anita Wantz, MD 1999-2004
Marge Myers 2000-2010
Eric Milholland 2000-2017
Eric Priday 2001-2001
Carrol Karrer, Ph.D, RN 2001-2014
James “Al” Channell 2001-2019
Rod Goddard 2003-2016
Erin Harris, MD 2004-2007
Justin Krueger, MD 2008-Present
Donna Burke, RPh 2010-Present
Keith Watson 2011-Present
Gary Bowman, DVM 2014-Present
Mark Smith 2016-Present
Tiffany Wood 2018-Present
Wayne Dellinger 2019-Present

Public Meetings & Events

Special Meeting of the Board of Health

In compliance with Ohio’s Open Meeting Act, a Special Meeting of the Union County Board of Health is scheduled for Nov. 28, 2023 at 11:30am at the Union County Health Department, Board Training Room, 940 London Ave, Marysville. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss and approve the CY 2024 budget proposal for the Union County Health Department and any other business that comes before the Board

Should you have any questions, please contact the Union County Health Department at 937-642-2053.

Regular Meetings of the Board of Health

The Board of Health meets regularly on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 am. Meetings are held at the Union County Health Department, 940 London Avenue, Marysville. Special meetings of the Board of Health are held as needed. Special meetings are announced to local media outlets as required by Ohio’s Open Meetings Law. Meetings are not recorded or streamed live at this time. If you would like to request a copy of meeting minutes or agendas or would like to request a link to attend a public meeting virtually, please email

Addressing the Board of Health

Members of the public are welcome at all meetings of the Board of Health. If a member of the public wishes to address the Board or bring a matter before the Board of Health, the individual must request to be added to the agenda a minimum of 5 days before the meeting. Requests to be added to the Board of Health meeting agenda can be emailed to or by calling (937) 642-2053.

< February 2024 >
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19Office Closed for the HolidayOffice Closed for the HolidayTime: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
20 21Board of Health MeetingBoard of Health MeetingTime: 7:30 am
Meetings are held at the Union County Health Department, 940 London Avenue, Marysville 940 London Ave. Marysville, Ohio 43040 Map
22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29      

Public Notices

Changes to Environmental Health Fee Schedule Adopted for 2024

After three readings and public comment, the Board of Health adopted the 2024 Environmental Health Fee Schedule at its regularly meeting on Nov. 15, 2023. Click on the link below to view the approved changes indicated in red text.

Click here to read the Proposed 2024 EH Fee Schedule